Unsending messages seem like a prominent feature to have these days, but it is one that so many messaging and email services still lack. Facebook messenger, one of the most used communication apps in the world, is a perfect example of a service that lacks that unsending feature for now, at least.
Facebook has rolled out an “unsend” feature to its users in Poland, Colombia, Bolivia and Lithuania, with plans to release it to the world in the short term.
With this feature, users can be able to unsend messages up until 10 minutes after sending them, which is quite useful to fix typos, or even to remove that confusing message you drunk-texted to your ex.
Why the 10-minute window?
Vice President of Messenger, Stan Chudnovsky, explained the reason behind the decision to go for a 10-minute window:
“We have looked at how the existing delete functionality works. And it turns out that when people are deleting messages because of it’s a mistake, or they have sent something they didn’t want to send, it is under a minute. We then decided to extend the time to 10 but decided we did not need to do more.”
How Removing A Message Works
To remove a message, the user has to just long press the target message (as long as it was sent in the last 10 minutes), and a “Remove” option will appear at the bottom of the screen. After selecting it, the user will be prompted to decide if the message should be deleted only for himself, or for everyone (a bit like what WhatsApp has going on).
After the message is deleted, a placeholder is put in its place, clearly stating that the sender removed the message. Also note that this placeholder is visible to all users (again, it’s similar to WhatsApp).
For a moment not much else is known about the feature, so we will have to wait for Facebook to release this feature on a broader geographical scope.
Do you think an unsend feature is a good thing for this service? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.